What is a 10-day letter and DS-1205?

When you receive a ticket for DUI in Georgia, often the officer will also confiscate your license.  In return you will receive a 1205 notice.  The officer may explain to you that the 1205 notice serves as your license for the next 30 days, and thereafter your license may automatically be suspended.  Make sure you read the fine print.  That notice also includes language putting you on notice that you have ten business days to appeal the suspension.  IT IS IMPERATIVE that you act quickly to send in this letter with the required $150.00 fine.  If you do not send in the letter, it is possible that your license may be suspended after the 30 days.  There may be rare circumstances in which it is best not to send in the ten-day letter.

Even if you are not yet ready to hire an attorney to handle the DUI charge, you should at least speak with a lawyer to discuss your options regarding this ten-day letter.

Attorney Erin H. Gerstenzang
Attorney Gerstenzang is a criminal defense lawyer in Atlanta, Georgia who frequently lectures on legal topics relating to DUI and traffic law. Erin has also co-chaired many DUI Seminars working closely with nationally recognized experts in her field of practice. To speak with Erin, call
404-771-6675 or click here to schedule a consultation.