What is Reckless Driving in Atlanta?
In Georgia, reckless driving is defined as operating a vehicle with "reckless disregard of persons or property." The definition is purposefully vague, so that it may be applied to numerous types of dangerous driving.
Reckless driving could refer to driving at an excessive speed, passing other vehicles in a dangerous manner, racing, or driving with some alcohol in your system (even if it is an insufficient amount for a DUI citation).
No matter how you define it, though, a traffic citation for driving recklessly is certain to impact your life. As such, you are encouraged to benefit from a consultation with Attorney Erin Gerstenzang.
Can an Officer Make an Arrest for Reckless Driving?
Yes, an officer is allowed to make an arrest for reckless driving, although it is not required. In most cases, as long as you’re compliant with the officer’s requests, you likely won’t be arrested on a traffic ticket like this one. In the event that you decide to get out of your car, argue with the officer in charge, or generally engage in poor behavior, the chances are far better that the officer may arrest you, even though this is treated like any other traffic violation in Georgia.
SCHEDULE A CONSULTATION
To Speak With Attorney Erin Gerstenzang
How Will Reckless Driving Affect My Driving Record?
Reckless driving will be reported to the DDS and will be added to your permanent driving record. It adds 4 points on your license. Note that those points will "age-off," meaning they will disappear after 2 years.
If you are under 21, though, the consequences for driving recklessly are far more serious. They could even cause a license suspension, which may affect your ability to get to class or work.
How much is the Fine?
The law does not require a fine for a driving violation like this one, but allows it to be up to $1,000.00. It is rare for the court to impose no fine if you were driving recklessly. The actual amount will depend on the court, the circumstances of your ticket, your driving history and whether you are also pleading to other charges.
Remember that court costs are often added to the total fine, so you could be looking at a fine that’s well above $1000.00.
Although no jail time is required, a judge may sentence you to up to 12 months in jail. It is rare to be sentenced to 12 months in jail for this kind of traffic ticket, but a judge may require a moderate amount of jail, depending on the circumstances.
Make sure you are familiar with your judge's sentencing practices before deciding whether to handle a reckless driving ticket without an attorney.