Driving without a valid license is a significant offense in Georgia and could result in misdemeanor penalties if you’re convicted. An officer will likely issue a citation for driving without a license in Brookhaven, Georgia if your license is not valid for any of the following reasons:
- Cancellation – Occurs when the DDS does not have the required or correct information.
- Revocation – The DDS terminated or withdrew driving privileges for a prescribed length of time. At the expiration of the revocation period, you may apply for a new license once you satisfy the requirements. You will be required to re-take the driving tests.
- Suspension – DDS temporarily withdraws your driving privilege for a specific period. At the expiration of the suspension period, you may apply for reinstatement once all requirements are satisfied.
- CDL Disqualifications & Serious Disqualifications – When the driver is convicted of two or more serious traffic violations while operating a vehicle other than a CMV. The driver becomes disqualified if there is a revocation or suspension of driving privileges.
In addition to a misdemeanor on your record, you face other penalties with a no license conviction. Consequences might include a minimum fine of $500, spending up to two days in county jail, and license suspension.
Consequences are even more severe if this is your second offense within five years. The court might require you to pay a minimum of $1,000, spend up to ten days in county jail, and face more suspension time.
But penalties may vary based on the jurisdiction, your age, and prior driving history. Some unlucky drivers face harsher penalties, including longer suspension time, extra reinstatement fees, and required attendance at a defensive driving class. A Brookhaven Traffic Lawyer can help you avoid the unnecessary penalties and pitfalls of a no license ticket.
How to Resolve a No License Charge in Georgia
There are two options for resolving a traffic citation in Georgia. If you don’t plan on fighting the charges against you, you can sometimes pay your ticket online. If you choose this route, make sure your payment is posted correctly and print a receipt as a record.
Alternatively, you can choose to plead not guilty to driving without a license. For a not guilty plea, you or your attorney must usually show up to court on your scheduled court date. If the officer issued your citation within the city limits of Brookhaven, Georgia, the state will likely schedule your appearance at Brookhaven Municipal Court. But, you can opt to have your case heard before a jury and transfer to a higher court – DeKalb County State Court – if you desire.
Ultimately, you want to choose one of these two options. Failure to pay your ticket or attend your court date will result in more penalties – including an automatic Failure to Appear (FTA) status.
Choosing a Brookhaven Traffic Lawyer
If you’re facing a misdemeanor charge for a no license traffic violation, it’s a good idea to seek guidance from an experienced Brookhaven Traffic Lawyer.
Schedule a free consult to find out how attorney Erin Gerstenzang can help you fight a no license charge at Brookhaven Municipal Court.