If an officer pulls you over for driving without a license, you will receive a court date for the offense. Usually, these cases are filed with the local courts. So, if an officer cites you within the city limits of Roswell, Georgia, the government schedules your arraignment at Roswell Municipal Court.
Before you make any decisions, it’s a good idea to be aware of your options and understand the penalties for driving without a valid license in Georgia.
Your first option is to pay the fee. If you are considering this route, there are a few things you should know:
- Driving without a license is a misdemeanor offense.
- Payment is considered a guilty plea.
- You must pay for your ticket in full at least 24 hours before your scheduled court date.
- Some citations require you to show up to your arraignment. Contact the court to find out if your violation is a “must appear” offense.
- If you can resolve your citation with a payment, you can use the online platform. You can also submit payment in person or by mail.
However, if you don’t want to plead guilty, you do have another choice. You can show up to your scheduled court date and fight the citation. For this option, it’s best to seek the help of an experienced Roswell Traffic Lawyer who may be able to:
- Identify areas in your case that would be a viable defense.
- Get charges reduced.
- Help you get a restricted license to travel to work.
While hiring an attorney to fight a traffic violation is not required, you don’t want to risk the court dishing out unnecessary or avoidable penalties.
Why Did I Get Charged for Driving Without a License?
Georgia law requires every driver to carry a valid driver’s license when they are behind the wheel. An officer might issue a citation for driving without a license in Roswell, Georgia if any of the following situations occurred during a routine traffic stop:
- You have a valid license but do not have it on you.
- You refuse to comply when the officer asks for your ID.
- Your license was canceled by the DDS because they did not have the required or correct information.
- The DDS revoked your license.
- The DDS temporarily withdrew or suspended your license.
- You were convicted of two or more serious traffic violations while operating a vehicle other than a CMV, and the DDS disqualified your CDL.
Those who can prove they had a valid license at the time of the traffic stop can usually avoid significant penalties.
However, the court is not so lenient for those driving without a valid license. Drivers in these situations can expect a minimum $500 fine and jail time if they are convicted.
Speak With a Roswell Traffic Lawyer
If you have any questions about handling a no license citation in Georgia, schedule a free consult with EHG Law today.