Resolving a Ticket for Driving Without a License at Alpharetta Municipal Court

It’s a good idea to understand your options and the process behind resolving a citation for driving without a license in Georgia. To start, usually, traffic violations are submitted to the local courts. So, if you received a ticket within the city limits of Alpharetta, the local police department will probably write you a ticket with a court date at the Alpharetta Municipal Court.

Once you receive your citation, you can decide whether to pay the fee or plead not guilty to the offense. If you opt to pay your fine, there are a few things you should know:

  1. Payment is considered a guilty plea.
  2. Pay for your ticket at least 24 hours before your scheduled court date.
  3. Some citations may still require you to show up to your arraignment. Contact the court to find out if your violation is a “must appear” offense.
  4. If you can resolve your citation with a payment, you can use the online platform.

Alternatively, if your offense requires you to attend court, or you decide to plead not guilty, it’s a good idea to make sure you have the correct court date. Alpharetta Municipal Court holds arraignments on Tuesdays and Wednesdays at 9 a.m. and 1 p.m. But you can find your exact date at the bottom of your citation.

What Happens If I Miss My Court Date?

Missing your scheduled arraignment can lead to several unnecessary repercussions. When someone misses a court date, the state issues a Failure to Appear status. Then, they submit a bench warrant and contact Georgia Driver Services to suspend your license.

Unless you can prove that a legitimate emergency kept you from your arraignment, resolving an FTA can be costly. In addition to the penalties of your original citation, you will incur additional fines, jail time, and court dates.

Pleading Not Guilty in Traffic Court

Driving without a license is taken seriously in Georgia. While you may only have to pay a small fine if you forgot to carry your otherwise valid license, the court is not as lenient in other situations.

For example, the court is less forgiving to drivers who get behind the wheel with a suspended, canceled, revoked, or disqualified license. In any of these cases, convictions could result in a minimum $500 fine and at least two days in the county jail. You could also face additional license suspension or difficulty obtaining a license in the future.

How an Experienced Georgia Traffic Lawyer Can Help Resolve a No License Citation

Fines, jail time, license suspension, and misdemeanor charges are nothing to take lightly. If you go to court for a traffic violation, whether it’s to plead not guilty or due to a “must appear” offense, your best bet is to hire an experienced Alpharetta Traffic Lawyer who may be able to:

  • Identify areas in your case that would be a viable defense
  • Get charges reduced
  • Help you avoid automatic license suspensions

If you have any questions about handling a no license citation in Georgia, schedule a free consult with EHG Law today.