After an officer cites you for driving with no license in Sandy Springs, Georgia, you should know your options.
The Court may permit you to pay your fine before your court date. But, by paying the fine, you are entering a guilty plea that results in an automatic misdemeanor on your record.
You can find out more about the online portal or in-person options at the Sandy Springs Municipal Court, located at 7840 Roswell Road, Suite 501.
But be aware that some tickets may require you to show up to your first court date (arraignment). So, if you plan on pleading guilty and paying the fine to avoid court, make sure your violation is not a “must appear” offense.
If your offense requires you to attend court, or you choose to fight the no license charge, make sure you have your court date correct. You can check your scheduled arraignment date by reviewing your citation. You can usually find this date at the bottom of the front page.
Alternatively, if you don’t pay your ticket and miss your court date, the State Court places you in a Failure to Appear (FTA) status. The state then issues a bench warrant for your arrest and contacts Georgia Driver Services to suspend your license.
To resolve your FTA, you will pay more fines, attend additional court dates, and possibly spend time in jail. And you still face penalties for your original citation. So you want to be sure to take the appropriate steps and avoid making the situation worse.
Pleading Not Guilty to a No License Charge in Georgia
Georgia law takes driving without a license seriously. Unless you can prove that you had a valid license when the officer issued you a citation, a no license conviction can have hefty repercussions.
If this is your first offense, you face a minimum $500 fine, two days in county jail, and license suspension. And, if it’s your second offense within five years, you could pay a minimum of $1,000 and spend at least ten days in the county jail.
While the court might show some leniency for those who just forgot their license at home, they are not so forgiving to those who drive (even unknowingly) with an ID that the DDS has suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified. So it’s a good idea to know your current license status and be aware of any possible issues before you get behind the wheel.
Hiring an Experienced Georgia Traffic Lawyer
You don’t want to risk unnecessary penalties for driving with no license in Georgia. If you are going to court, your best opportunity is to hire an experienced Sandy Springs Traffic Lawyer who may be able to:
- Identify areas in your case that would be a viable defense
- Get charges reduced
- Help you get a restricted license to travel to work
If you have any questions about handling a no license citation in Georgia, schedule a free consult with EHG Law today.